Coding in the Classroom

Up until a few months ago, I didn’t have any interest in coding. I thought it was way beyond what I could ever understand and had no desire to learn about it. However, in my internship at Davidson School my cooperating teacher Sandra Baldwin was in charge of a SWISI project to encourage students to learn about coding. Having the opportunity to see the students play on the code.org website drastically changed my view on the topic. Initially, the high school students were given the opportunity to learn how to code on the website, then they continued to assist the younger students while they leaned how to code. It was a very encouraging process to be apart of. I had already completed an Hour of Code while I was in my internship, so I decided to play a different game this time around. Below is a screencast of the completion of level 15:

 

Another neat thing that the students in Davidson School had the opportunity to do was play with Spheros. The students had a lot of fun with these and were constantly asking when they would have the chance to play with them again. I decided to research the different ways in which the spheros and coding are related. I found a really interesting article that discussed an app called Tickle. According to the website “Tickle is a free coding app for the iPad that lets students create programs to control Spheros.” I think the students at Davidson School would have loved the opportunity to try an app such as the one discussed in the article.

Below is a couple pictures I took in my internship of the students having fun with the spheros:

Oct 16 Sphero 5

Oct 16 Sphero 17

I think it is important that students are provided with the opportunity to learn about coding in school. It gives them the chance to learn how to problem solve, it provides them with digital confidence and it gives them a deeper understanding of the world. Check out this article to find more reasons why coding should be taught in schools!

4 thoughts on “Coding in the Classroom

  1. I agree, before ECMP I didn’t have an interest in learning how to code. However, I really did enjoy the challenge of the Hour of Code. I think that it is great for them to learn the problem solving skills from coding. I really enjoyed reading about how in your internship the students moved past the Hour of Code and applied coding in other ways. It is also interesting to see how engaged the students were and good to know students are interested in learning this. I questioned how high school students would react to Hour of Code and coding in general. Thanks for sharing this! It makes me want to learn more about coding myself.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing an experience with coding in the classroom. Often coding isn’t see in a positive light or even recognized in many schools. I was only introduced to coding through ECMP and this year being introduced to Hour of Code, gives me the opportunity to incorporate it into a lesson. Also, coding can be very engaging and isn’t the boring aspect people are use to. Do you recommend using spheros? Price wise, I don’t know if they would be affordable for most schools, do you have any suggestions on purchasing them?

    Like

Leave a Reply

